Summer of a Whole Century


Summer of a Whole Century


A chamber music concert featuring works by European composers of the first half of the 20th century – K. Szymanowski, E. Korngold and O. Respighi will be presented by the artists of the Astana Opera Orchestra. The compositions that will be performed in the programme are rarely heard, and some of them will be heard by the Kazakhstani audience for the first time.

Karol Szymanowski (1882–1937) was one of the most outstanding Polish and world composers of the 20th century. His cycle Mythes is a vivid example of the influence of Debussy’s music on his work. Szymanowski’s pieces exemplify musical impressionism, showcasing his ability to craft sophisticated and intricate works that occasionally even outshine those of his French contemporaries.

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897–1957), an Austrian and American composer, was the final successor of Viennese Romanticism. The suite from the music for the comedy Much Ado about Nothing, originally intended for an orchestral performance of Shakespeare’s play, was adapted by the composer for violin and piano. Korngold himself played the piano part during the performances.

Debut performances of compositions by Ottorino Respighi (1879–1936), an Italian symphonic composer of the 20th century whose artistic journey transitioned from impressionism to neoclassicism, promise to evoke a myriad of positive emotions among the discerning audience.


Karol Szymanowski. Mythes. Three Poems for Violin and Piano, op.30

1. La fontaine d`Arethuse

2. Narcisse

3. Dryades et Pan


Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Suite from the music for Shakespeare’s comedy Much Ado about Nothing for violin and piano, op.11

I. Mädchen im Brautgemach

II. Holzapfel und Schlehwein (Marsch der Wache)

III. Intermezzo (Gartenszene)

IV. Mummenschanz (Hornpipe)


Ottorino Respighi

Cycle of Pieces for Violin and Piano, op.31

1. Berceuse: Andantino

2. Melodia: Andantino mosso - Largamente - Tempo primo

3. Leggenda: Lento - Piu mosso - Agitato - Tempo primo

4. Valse Caressante: Tempo lento di valzer

5. Serenata: Andante calmo

6. Aria: Lento Piu mosso - Poco meno


Il tramonto. A lyrical poem for mezzo-soprano and string quartet based on the verses of P. Shelley


Tatyana VITSINSKAYA (mezzo-soprano)

Assel ZHAKIYANOVA (violin)


Akbope MUKHAMEDZHAN (viola)

Balzhan KUDYAROVA (cello)

Saida USENALIYEVA (piano)

Tickets purchased at the Astana Opera are exchangeable and refundable only in cases of cancelled or postponed performances. In all other cases, no refunds and exchanges are possible.