Театр им. Ауэзова

A Journey Through Musical Europe

2017/2018              Chamber Hall             the 5th Season

24 April * Tuesday * 7.00 pm

“The Kazakh Quartet Invites” Cycle

“A Journey Through Musical Europe”

The Gaziza Zhubanova String Quartet, a well-known Kazakhstani team, will please its devoted fans and the guests of the capital with a new programme. The tonality of the programme compositions is spring-like major. The bright, light and life-affirming music by the Austrian classical composer Joseph Haydn, the Russian Romantic composer Pyotr Tchaikovsky and the French Impressionist composer Maurice Ravel will be performed.


Haydn’s String Quartet No. 4 op.76, which will open the concert, refers to the late works of the great Austrian composer, and is distinguished by its depth and symphonic thinking.

P.Tchaikovsky’s String Quartet No. 2 is one of the most frequently performed works written by the Russian classical composer. Rodion Shchedrin used the theme from its third movement in the music to the ballet Anna Karenina, which became one of the keynotes of the main character.

Introduction and Allegro for Harp, Flute, Clarinet and String Quartet composed by the representative of French Impressionism M. Ravel is a work that has a special charm. It is full of tenderness, captivating dreaminess, charm of youth and spring, slightly shaded by melancholy.

Joseph Haydn described the String Quartet as a “conversation between four intelligent people who have something to say”. We invite music lovers and guests of the capital to listen to the fascinating conversation of the brilliant musicians of the acclaimed team - the Gaziza Zhubanova String Quartet, and their friends.



  1. J. Haydn. String Quartet No.5 in D major, op.76

Allegro con spirito


Menuet. Allegro – Trio

Finale - Allegro ma non troppo


  1. P. Tchaikovsky. String Quartet No. 2 in F major, op. 22

Adagio – Moderato assai

Scherzo – Allegro giusto

Andante ma non tanto

Finale – Allegro con moto


  1. M. Ravel. Introduction and Allegro for Harp, Flute, Clarinet and String Quartet in G-flat major




Magrufa Mukazhanova (harp)

Guldana Akimova (flute)

Seidakhmetov Daulet (clarinet)


The String Quartet is composed of

Aidar Toktaliyev (1st violin)

Alexey Lebedev (2nd violin)

Bekzat Sailaubaiuly (viola)

Yernar Myntayev (cello)


Artistic Director – Honoured Worker of Kazakhstan Yernar Myntayev



Running time: 1 hour 30 minutes


Management reserves the right to substitute performers and works performed