Google ad services
Билеты на мастер-классы Алматы

The Symphony of Spring

2017/2018                    Main Hall                   the 5th Season

4 March * Sunday * 6.00 pm


“The Symphony of Spring”

“The Symphony of Spring” concert, featuring Ivan Bessonov, laureate of the 4th International Festival of Classical Music and Competition for Young Pianists “Astana Piano Passion” (Artistic Director of the Project – People’s Artist of Russia Denis Matsuev) will take place in the Main Hall of the Astana Opera House.

The “Astana Piano Passion” Competition aims to support young performers, expand creative ties worldwide and promote classical music. Ivan Bessonov, who won first prize of the Competition, was awarded a certificate to participate in the concert along with the Symphony Orchestra in the Main Hall of the Astana Opera House.


Ivan Bessonov was born in St. Petersburg in 2002. He began to study piano at the age of six. In 2015, he composed the music for the documentary film Varicella by Victor Kossakovsky, the premiere of which took place at the Message to Man International Film Festival in St. Petersburg. He has won six Grand Prix at the annual Étude Competition at the St. Petersburg Music Lyceum (2010–2015).

In 2015, he won the Grand Prix at the International Frédéric Chopin Competition for Youth in St. Petersburg, and in 2016, he won first prize at the International Anton Rubinstein Competition The Piano Miniature in Russian Music in St. Petersburg, as well as the Young Talents Award of the St. Petersburg City Government and the title of laureate and the audience award at the International Grand Piano Competition for Young Pianists in Moscow. He appeared in We Will Play Jazz concert at the Grand Kremlin Palace. In the summer and autumn of 2016, he toured towns throughout Russia.


On the programme:


N. Rimsky-Korsakov. Symphonic suite Scheherazade, op. 35

Movement 1. The Sea and Sinbad’s Ship

Movement 2. The Kalandar Prince

Movement 3. The Young Prince and the Young Princess

Movement 4. Festival at Baghdad


P. Tchaikovsky. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No.1 in B flat minor, op. 23

Movement 1. Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso - Allegro con spirit

Movement 2. Andantino semplice – Prestissimo

Movement 3. Allegro con fuoco


Performed by:

Symphony Orchestra of the Astana Opera House

Soloist - Ivan Bessonov (piano, Russia)

Conductor - Honoured Worker of Kazakhstan Abzal Mukhitdinov



Running time: 1 hour 40  minutes


Management reserves the right to substitute performers and works performed