Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

2022/2023           Kulyash Baiseitova Chamber Hall           the 10th Season

19 May * Friday * 7.00 pm



Music by Candlelight

Second Concert


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart


Running time: 1 hour 30 minutes

Please note that the age limit is 10+.

Management reserves the right to substitute performers and works performed


The second concert in the “Music by Candlelight” series, dedicated to the great Mozart, is presented by Bagdat Abilkhanov, the first violinist of the Astana Opera Orchestra, and Saltanat Abilkhanova, winner of international competitions. The programme features violin sonatas by the representative of Viennese classics.

It is well known that Mozart began composing his first violin sonata in 1762 at the age of six; the last one was created in 1788, in the same year as symphonies No. 39, 40 and 41. In total, the composer wrote more than three dozen violin sonatas.

These “musical conversations” were born by magic, in full accordance with the image of Mozart as we imagine him – a carefree genius who created as birds sing: sonatas seemed to appear casually by themselves.

In the concert, the musicians will perform a work by the German romanticist Johannes Brahms, whose 190th anniversary is being commemorated by the world music community.



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1764-1779)


Violin Sonata No. 1 in C major, KV 6

1. Allegro

2. Andante

3. Menuetto I-II

4. Allegro molto


Violin Sonata No. 3 in B-flat major, KV 8

1. Allegro

2. Andante grazioso

3. Menuetto I - Menuetto II


Violin Sonata No. 5 in E-flat major, KV 26

1. Molto allegro

2. Adagio poco Andante

3. Rondo. Allegro

4. Johannes Brahms. Violin Sonata No. 1 in G major, Op.78

1. Vivace ma non troppo

2. Adagio

3. Allegro molto moderato



Bagdat ABILKHANOV, Honoured Worker of Kazakhstan (violin)

Saltanat ABILKHANOVA (piano)


Tickets purchased at the Astana Opera are exchangeable and refundable only in cases of cancelled or postponed performances. In all other cases, no refunds and exchanges are possible.